Session 10: Music Education - The Intertwining of Educational Disruption and Music Disruption

April 22, 2021 | 8:30am Pacific Daylight Time
Register in Eventbrite
Frank Heuser

Frank Heuser

Professor, Music Education, UCLA Alpert School of Music, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Jami Duffy

Jami Duffy

Executive Director, Youth on Record, Denver, CO, USA

Nurit Siegel Smith

Nurit Siegel Smith

Executive Director, House of Blues Music Forward, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Kelsey Smith

Kelsey Smith

Programs Director, Young Musicians Foundation, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Details

Music Education –

The Intertwining of Educational Disruption and Music Disruption

8:30 am PDT / 9:30 am MDT / 10:30 am CDT / 11:30 am EDT 

Last Spring, music education around the world suddenly went remote — or was severely disrupted at the very least. Many schools and educators pivoted and transformed how they taught music. Community education organizations already had pivoted in some cases and became global instead of just serving their local communities. Performers became online educators around the world, opening new doors and relationships. Will this continue in 2021? Will this five-years-of-change-in-one stick or transform expectations and global connections?