Session 11: Relocation - Transformations of City Centers and Suburbs

April 22, 2021 | 9 am Pacific Daylight Time
Register in Eventbrite
Kwende Kefentse

Kwende Kefentse

Cultural Industries Development Officer, City of Ottawa / Creative Director of TIMEKODE, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Meara McLaughlin

Meara McLaughlin

Executive Director, Music Portland, Portland, OR, USA

Adam Behr

Adam Behr

Director, Live Music Exchange; Lecturer in Contemporary and Popular Music at the International Centre for Music Studies, Newcastle University, Edinburgh, UK

Sergio Arbelaez Ospina

Sergio Arbelaez Ospina

Director, FIMPRO; Direction of Cultural Affairs, University of Guadalajara; Director General, imusic-school; Director de Contenidos, Circulart, Mexico

Details

Relocation – Transformations of City Centers and Suburbs

9 am PDT / 10 am MDT / 11 am CDT / 12 pm EDT 

Where do we want to live if we have our choices? And where do we want to engage with music if we’re working and living in a hybrid or remote work world? Not all of us changed locations, but Central Business Districts are struggling with their futures and suburbs in many cities are the new normal. What does all of this do to permanently impact city centers and in many cases the locations of our music venues and city festivals? This session will discuss the past year’s transformations of city centers and suburbs.