Session 23: Rethinking Space - Changing Roles of Real Estate and Single Purpose Spaces

April 23, 2021 | 8:55 am Pacific Daylight Time
Register in Eventbrite
Arne Dee

Arne Dee

Survey Coordinator, Live DMA; Dee Music; Nordic Delight Festival; VNPF; Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Joe Hay

Joe Hay

South Australian Festivals License Reform Roundtable Member; Live Music Commentator, ABC 891 Radio, Fringe Pilot Festival, Adelaide, Australia

Details

Rethinking Space –

Changing Roles of Real Estate and Single Purpose Spaces

8:55 am PDT / 9:55 am MDT / 10:55 am CDT / 11:55 am EDT 

A Venue now may need different densities and configurations — and is not the only way to be creating and performing in a local community. Ahead of the pandemic, all sorts of pop-ups, outdoor events and festivals, and multi-purpose spaces were growing in many communities. In this session, we’ll explore the future of venues in a post-pandemic local world in terms of density, ownership, policy/permitting, and incentive structures. Real estate may never be the same — how will its challenges this past year shift our assumptions of what we expect in our creative cities and spaces?