Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

  • This session has passed.

41.2 – Music Retail: Now and in the Future

April 24 @ 11:15 am - 11:45 am PDT

Music Retail: Now and In the Future

April 24, 2020 | 11:15 AM PDT / 12:15 PM MDT / 1:15 PM CDT / 2:15 PM EDT
Watch Session on YouTube

Music Retail: Now and In the Future (Session 41.2)

Paul Epstein

Paul Epstein

Owner, Twist & Shout Records, Denver, CO, USA

Andrea Paschal

Andrea Paschal

Executive Director, Coalition of Independent Music Stores (CIMS); ThinkIndie Distribution, Birmingham, AL, USA

Justin Johnson

Justin Johnson

Owner, Darkside Records, Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

Music Retail

The forced closure of record stores, particularly those that are independently operated, has been devastating to business owners who were already challenged to compete within a rapidly changing industry. Moreover, the timing couldn’t have been worse. Stores missed (for now) the opportunity to benefit from Record Store Day, an annual event that generates huge sales and foot traffic vital to the continued operations of participating stores. What other effects has the pandemic had on these retailers? How have they managed in the meantime? What will reopening look like, and what is the future for these stores that are in many cases landmarks in their communities?

Links from the Session:

 

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
11:15 am - 11:45 am
Session Category:
Session Tags:
, ,