Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

  • This session has passed.

25 – Part II: Nightlife: Working with Government on Response

April 24 @ 2:00 am - 2:30 am PDT

Part II: Nightlife: Working with Government

April 24, 2020 | 2:30 AM PDT / 3:30 AM MDT / 4:30 AM CDT / 5:30 AM EDT | 12:15 CEST (Central European Summer Time)
View Session at YouTube

Part II: Nightlife: Working with Government on Response (Session 25)

Mirik Milan Gelders

Mirik Milan Gelders

Vibe Lab; former Night Mayor of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Amy Lamé

Amy Lamé

Night Czar, London, UK

Mark Adam Harold

Mark Adam Harold

Night Mayor of Vilnius, Lithuania

Jane Slingo

Jane Slingo

Director, Electronic Music Conference / Co Founder, Global Cities After Dark, Sydney, Australia

Part II

The last six weeks have been a whirlwind. Nightlife leaders, nighttime commissions and “night mayors” have responded quickly to the COVID-19 crisis through network- and platform-building, advocacy, and sharing open-source ideas from one city to another. VibeLab offers a two-part conversation with nightlife leaders from cities worldwide:

Part I will highlight models that have been developed in one city and adopted in another (including livestreaming, surveys, and network-building).

Part II will dig deeper into strategies for advocating for nightlife with local government. We’ll highlight current successes as well as challenges.

All tools will be available open-source on nighttime.org, to make it easy to adapt these ideas to your own scene.

How do nightlife advocates fight for support for their scene with local government—especially when overcoming negative perceptions of night economies, or limited policy- or decision-making power?

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
2:00 am - 2:30 am
Session Categories:
, ,
Session Tags:

Collaborator

Vibe Lab / nightlife.org