Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

  • This session has passed.

36 – Important Takeaways from Katrina: The Challenges of New Orleans are the World’s Challenges

April 24 @ 8:30 am - 9:00 am PDT

Important Takeaways from Katrina: The Challenges of New Orleans are the World's Challenges

April 24, 2020 | 8:30 AM PDT / 9:30 AM MDT / 10:30 AM CDT / 11:30 AM EDT
Watch Session on YouTube

Important Takeaways from Katrina: The Challenges of New Orleans are the World’s Challenges (Session 36)

Reid Wick

Reid Wick

Sr. Membership & Project Manager, Recording Academy, New Orleans, LA, USA

Sonya Robinson

Sonya Robinson

Founder & Co-Director, Artist Corps New Orleans, LA, USA

Renard Bridgewater

Renard Bridgewater

Community Engagement Coordinator, Music and Culture Coalition of New Orleans, LA, USA

Jordan Hirsch

Jordan Hirsch

Editor, ACloserWalkNola.com; founding Executive Director, Sweet Home New Orleans, LA, USA

Learning from Katrina

Resilience can stem from disruption and disaster. New Orleans suffered that in abundance after Hurricane Katrina. How did the recovery from Katrina prepare (or not prepare) New Orleans for the changes after and now for the COVID-19 pandemic? How did these past challenges impact the New Orleans music industry? What lessons did the local music community learn? How will the current challenges affect New Orleans after the pandemic?

Contacts:

Sonya Robinson: sonya@artistcorpsnola.org
Jordan Hirsh: jordan@ponderosastomp.com
Renard Bridgewater: coordinator@maccno.com
Reid Wick: reid.wick@recordingacademy.com