Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

  • This session has passed.

39 – Sociable Cities: Building Alliances to Restore a Safe and Vibrant Social Economy

April 24 @ 10:00 am - 10:30 am PDT

Sociable Cities

April 24, 2020 | 10:00 AM PDT / 11:00 AM MDT / 12:00 PM CDT / 1:00 PM EDT
Watch Session in YouTube

Sociable Cities: Building Alliances to Restore a Safe and Vibrant Social Economy (Session 39)

Andreina Seijas

Andreina Seijas

Doctor of Design Candidate, Harvard University Graduate School of Design, Cambridge, MA, USA

Jim Peters

Jim Peters

President, Responsible Hospitality, Santa Cruz, CA, USA

Sociable Cities: Building Alliances to Restore a Safe and Vibrant Social Economy

 

Music is the heartbeat of sociability. While great online performances are available today, virtual socializing will never be a substitute for the physical social connections made in venues providing the space for creative multi-dimensional performances. Two of the sectors most affected by this crisis, the hospitality and entertainment industries, need to think proactively in order to be the next frontline to recovery.  How can governments, community organizations, the private sector and nightlife and hospitality workers join forces to prepare cities for this new era of sociability? This panel will discuss the role that alliances will play in the recovery of safe, vibrant night scenes.

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
10:00 am - 10:30 am PDT
Session Categories:
,
Session Tags:
,