Loading Sessions

« All Sessions

  • This session has passed.

20 – How can India revise its creative economy policies & look into the past to shape the future

April 23 @ 11:15 pm - 11:45 pm PDT

How can India Revise its Creative Economy Policies & Look Into the Past to Shape the Future?

April 23, 2020 | 11:15 PM PDT / 12:15 AM MDT / 1:15 AM CDT / 2:15 AM EDT / 11:45 AM IST (New Delhi, India)
Watch on YouTubeEngage in Slack

How can India Revise its Creative Economy Policies & Look Into the Past to Shape the Future? (Session 20)

Varun Patra

Varun Patra

Co-Founder, Homegrown, Mumbai, India

Ritnika Nayan

Ritnika Nayan

Director of Market Development, India, CD Baby; Owner, Music Gets Me High; Program Director and Professor, Music Business Management, Sri Aurobindo Centre for Arts & Communication, New Delhi, India

Dev Bhatia

Dev Bhatia

Managing Partner/Artist Manager, UnMute; Guest Lecturer, I Love Music Academy, New Delhi, India

How can India Revise its Creative Economy Policies & Look Into the Past to Shape the Future?

As a country, India doesn’t have any formal structures from the government to invest or support creative, nightlife, and music industries. These sectors bring a large amount of revenue to the economy but also have big eco-systems connected, which are not given the importance they deserve. In the age of COVID-19, it is an essential time to create the right frameworks and policies to build for a stronger future. There is an untapped potential, but moreover, we need to look at solutions from our past that can help shape the future.

The music, creative, and nightlife economies have the opportunity to help revive the country at this time. They require, however, the right processes and the inclusion of all communities to create a bridge between both the traditional and contemporary arts within music, arts, and culture. The speakers shared that if not done now this will be another lost opportunity. If they don’t do this now, India will have another lost opportunity. And if the government doesn’t focus on it, it’s upon Indian creators and organizations to bring this to light.

As Gandhi said: “Be The Change You Want To See.”

Contacts:

 

Dev Bhatia: dev@unmute.in
Ritnika Nayan: ritnika@mgmh.net
 

Details

Date:
April 23
Time:
11:15 pm - 11:45 pm PDT
Session Categories:
, ,
Session Tags:
, ,